Dean

 

 

 

 

Dr. Sami Abdullah Hamdi

The Dean, English Language Institute

Jazan University, Kingdom of Saudi Arabia

 

A Word from the Dean

 

Nowadays, English language has become the language of the scientific and cultural communication across nations. The Ministry of Education, through the public and higher education institutions, has been keen on teaching English at par with other subjects. Realizing this, Jazan University established the English Language Centre, since its very inception, in 1428 AH - 2006, which was later upgraded to the English Language Institute (ELi) in 1440 AH - 2018. ELi offers a number of courses and programs that serve various disciplines in the university and focus on enhancing the four core language skills (Listening, Speaking, Reading, and Writing).

ELi exerts significant efforts to develop its programs to keep pace with the cutting-edge language teaching methodologies that enhance the required learning outcomes of the target university programs. As part of the ELi efforts for continuous development and improving the quality of the programs, a strategic plan has been developed in line with the University Strategic Plan 2020 – 2025 and that of the Kingdom – Vision 2030. The strategic plan goals cover various administrative, academic, and professional aspects, including, student services, learning and teaching activities, faculty members training, scientific research and community services. The MA in TESOL (Teaching English to Speakers of Other Languages) program has been launched recently to meet the growing demand for English learning and teaching to prepare specialists who can meet the needs of public and private institutions.

ELi's role is not only limited to teaching English to students, but also to offer supporting services to the university community, such as, translation, proofreading, editing, and specialized English training courses for the university staff. Finally, ELi seeks to provide quality programs, services, and initiatives that are consistent with the university's goals and development plans.

 

 

Rating
Last Change
Wednesday 12 Rabi’ Al-Thani 1443

عميد المعهد

 

                                                           

                                                       كلمة عميد المعهد

أضحت اللغة الإنجليزية لغة العصر والاتصال العلمي والثقافي بين الدول. ولقد حرصت وزارة التعليم ممثلة في مؤسسات التعليم العام والجامعي على العناية بتعليم اللغة الإنجليزية بالتوازي مع العلوم الأخرى. وإدراكاً من جامعة جازان لهذا الاهتمام، فقد أنشئت منذ تأسيسها مركز اللغة الإنجليزية في عام 1428هـ، والذي تم ترقيته في عام 1440هـ، ليصبح معهد اللغة الإنجليزية. يقدم المعهد برامج متنوعة تخدم مختلف تخصصات الجامعة وتُركز على تعزيز مهارات اللغة الإنجليزية الأربع (الاستماع، التحدث، القراءة، الكتابة).

يسعى المعهد وبشكل حثيث لتطوير برامجه ليواكب المستجدات الحديثة في منهجيات وأساليب تدريس اللغة الإنجليزية لتعزيز مخرجات التعلم المُستهدفة. وكجزء من سعي المعهد للتطوير ورفع جودة البرامج والخدمات التي يقدمها، فقد تم إعداد خطة إستراتيجية تتماشى مع خطة الجامعة الإستراتيجية 2020-2025 ورؤية المملكة 2030. وقد اشتملت أهداف الخطة الإستراتيجية على مختلف الجوانب الإدارية والأكاديمية والمهنية وما يرتبط بذلك من خدمة الطالب وأنشطة التعليم والتعلم وعضو هيئة التدريس والبحث العلمي وخدمة المجتمع. وقد تم اعتماد برنامج الماجستير في تدريس اللغة الإنجليزية للناطقين بغيرها (تيسول) لمواكبة الطلب المتنامي لتعليم اللغة الإنجليزية وإعداد متخصصين يساهمون في تلبية ذلك الاحتياج في المؤسسات الحكومية والخاصة.

ولا يتوقف دور المعهد على تدريس اللغة الإنجليزية للطلاب فحسب، بل يشمل أيضاً تقديم خدمات مساندة لمجتمع الجامعة كخدمات الترجمة والتدقيق والتحرير والتدريب على مهارات اللغة الإنجليزية لمنسوبي الجامعة من موظفين وفنيين. وختاما، فإن المعهد يعمل بشكل مستمر لتقديم برامج وخدمات ومبادرات نوعية تتوائم مع مستهدفات الجامعة وخططها التطويرية.

د. سامي عبدالله حمدي

عميد معهد اللغة الانجليزية

جامعة جازان , المملكة العربية السعودية

ELI Dean

 

 

 

التقييم
أخر تعديل
الاثنين 22 شوّال 1443